SmarterMail Help

Shared Resources

This settings page is only available to Domain Administrators.

In the Shared Resources section, Domain Administrators can create shared calendars for users of a specific domain. For example, a calendar can be created and shared to all users for tracking a department's vacation schedule or company holidays. Administrators can also use this section to create conference rooms, allowing better organization for users when scheduling appointments.

To view the Shared Resources for a domain, log into SmarterMail as a Domain Administrator and use the Menu icon to navigate to the Domain Settings section. Then click on Shared Resources in the navigation pane.

To create a shared resource for users on your domain, click New. The following options will be available:

Details

On the Details tab, you'll choose the type of resource to share: Calendar or Conference Room.

  • Name - The name of the resource. Note: If this resource will be a conference room it is best to name the resource the same as the room designation. For example, South Conference Room or Main Hall.
  • Type - The type of resource being added: Calendar or Conference Room. NOTE: Unlike shared calendars, conference rooms will NOT show up as an available shared calendar. It only shows up for users when creating new events.

Permissions

On the Permissions tab, you'll enter the users who should receive access to the resource and what type of access they should have.

  • User - Enter only the username of the account. (For example, for user account, "jdoe@example.com", you would enter "jdoe".)
  • User Group - User Groups can be created to give permissions to specific subsets of users on the domain. By default, two groups are always available: Everyone and Admins. For more information on creating additional user groups, please visit the User Groups page.
  • Access - Select the type of access for the user or user group:
    • None - This option can act as a negator for permission settings. For example, if you provide access to the Admin user group, you can omit one or multiple of those Admins by entering their name in the User field and selecting None for their access.
    • Read-Only - This option allows users to see the shared data but they do not have the ability to edit the item.
    • Full Control - This option allows users to fully edit the shared data.