SmarterMail Help

User Defaults

For domains that have a large number of users, it can be time consuming to make a change to user settings -- increase the Mailbox Size Limit or disabling the ability to change passwords, for example -- and then ensure the changes are applied to all users. With User Defaults, however, Domain Administrators can create a template for the default user settings so that they only have to make the change in one location, and then propagate those settings to a select few users or each user on the domain. This makes changing settings quick and easy and ensures each user has the exact same permissions and settings applied.

User Defaults

To review the default configuration for new users, click on the User Defaults button. (The default user settings are identical to those found when adding or editing a user. For more information on these settings, refer to the Managing Users page.).

You can make whatever changes you want to these settings, and any NEW accounts that are added will use these defaults. However, it's also possible to change these settings, then push those settings to one or more users individually, or to all users. In the case of pushing changes to individual users, say you have a set Mailbox Size Limit set for all users of 2000MB (2GB). However, the C-Level execs need more. It's possible to change that limit to something higher -- 8000MB (8GB), for example -- and then push that change to all of the accounts set up for the C-Level executives.

Propagation

To apply some or all of the default user settings to some or all of the existing users on the domain, do the following:

  1. First, make any changes you want on this page, then click the Save button.
  2. Next, click on the Propagate button. A modal window opens up.
  3. Scroll down the list of settings, placing a check mark next to the settings you want to push to your user(s).
  4. Once all items have been selected, you can pick who you want to propagate the changes to:
    • Specific Users - Selecting this allows you to start entering the users you want to propagate the changes to. These changes will only propagate to the users you enter.
    • All Users - This will propagate the changes to all users of the domain.
  5. Once you've selected your changes, and added the specific users you want to propagate the changes to, click the Propagate button.

NOTE: Simply making a change to the User Defaults doesn't automatically propagate, so a change to default settings does not change users that are already in place for the domain. They only affect any new users that are created. In order for changes to take effect, they must be propagated. In addition, if you're making changes to individual users, you may need to go back and change the propagated settings back to what they were originally. Otherwise, any new users created will use those new settings.

NOTE: If a System Administrator is impersonating a domain administrator and wants to propagate settings changes -- and, specifically, Exchange Synchronization changes -- User Administration for those settings MUST be enabled for the domain. Otherwise, changes will not be saved for users.