SmarterMail Help

System Events

This settings page is only available to Administrators of the SmarterMail installation.

The Event system in SmarterMail is an incredibly powerful and flexible tool that allows Administrators to automatically perform actions based on specific criteria and remain up-to-date with what is going on with the SmarterMail server, domains and user accounts. SmarterMail can detect events as they occur, generate messages for those events, and deliver the messages to users that need the information.

By default, SmarterMail is installed with several pre-defined system events. These are available to help System Admininstrators keep track of important information, such as the impending expiration of any paid add-ons, when a new version is available to be downloaded and installed, when the overall disk space usage on the server is getting to a critical point, when a User's disk space is getting to a critical point and more. Any "built-in" Events are labeled as such -- these Events can not be deleted, though they can be edited. Other pre-defined events can be edited and changed to match the needs of the system and System Administrator, or deleted entirely.

To create or view system events, log into SmarterMail as an Administrator and click on the Settings icon. Then click on Events in the navigation pane. To create a new event, click New. The following options will be available:

General

  • Event Name - The friendly name of the event.
  • Event Status - New events default to a status of Enabled. However, to temporarily stop an event from triggering, you can change the status to Disabled.
  • Event Category - The feature to which the event pertains: User, Mailing List, Alias, Throttling, Email or Collaboration.
  • Event Type - The occurence that triggers the event. Each category has several specific event types that can trigger the action.

Conditions

Each event type has its own corresponding conditions. The global conditions that are seen across all event types are listed below.

  • Time of Day - The time frame during which the event occurs.
  • Day of Week - The day(s) of the week during which the event occurs.
  • Service - The service impacted that would fire the event: SMTP, POP, IMAP, Delivery, POP Retrieval.

Actions

Each event type has its own corresponding actions. The global actions that are seen across all event types are listed below.

  • Send a notification - This option will send a notification to the Notifications window. It can also send a popup browser notification and an email.
  • Send an email - This option will send an email to the specified address.
  • Command Line Action - Execute a specified command line.

Event Variables

Below is a list of variables available for any and all system events. NOTE: This list may change as variables may be added at any time.

  • Alias Addresses -- #aliasaddresses#
  • Alias Name -- #aliasname#
  • All Domain Admins -- #alldomainadmins#
  • Check Name -- #checkname#
  • ClamAV IP -- #clamip#
  • ClamAV Port -- #clamport#
  • Consecutive Failures -- #consecutivefailures#
  • Days Left -- #daysleft#
  • Day of Week - #daysofweek#
  • Description -- #description#
  • Disk Drive -- #diskdrive#
  • Free Disk Space (GB) -- #diskspacefree#
  • Free Disk Space (%) -- #diskspacefreepercent#
  • Disk Drive -- "#diskdrive#
  • Disk Usage (GB) -- #diskspaceused#
  • Disk Usage (%) -- #diskspaceusedpercent#
  • Domain -- #domain#
  • Domains Used - #domaincount#
  • Domains User (%) -- #domainpercent#
  • Domain Usage (MB) -- #domainusagemb#
  • Domain Usage (%) -- #domainusagepercent#
  • File Name -- #filename#
  • File Size (KB) -- #filesize#
  • Forwarding Address - #forwardingaddresses#
  • From Address -- #emailfrom#
  • From Domain -- #fromdomain#
  • Full Name -- #fullname#
  • Gateway Address -- #gatewayip#
  • Hard Reject -- #hardreject#
  • Intra Domain -- #intradomain#
  • IP Address -- #ipaddress#
  • Add-on Name -- #licensefor#
  • List Name -- #listname#
  • Location -- #location#
  • Mailbox Allowed Size (MB) -- #mailboxsizemax#
  • Mailbox Usage (MB) -- #mailboxusagemb#
  • Mailbox Usage (%) -- #mailboxusagepercent#
  • Mailing List Address -- #mailinglistaddress#
  • Max Disk Size (GB) -- #diskspacegbmax#
  • Max Domain Size -- #domainsizemax#
  • Memory Used (MB) -- #memoryusedmb#
  • Memory Used (%) -- #memoryusedpercent#
  • Messages an Hour -- #amtinhour#
  • Password -- #password#
  • Percent Complete -- #percentcomplete#
  • Primary Domain Admin -- #primarydomainadmin#
  • Priority -- #priority#
  • Rule Name -- #rulename#
  • Rule Type -- #ruletype#
  • Server Name -- #servername#
  • Service -- #service#
  • Size (KB) -- #sizekb#
  • SpamAssassin IP -- #spamassassinip#
  • (SpamAssassin) Name -- #spamassassinname#
  • SpamAssassin Port -- #spamassassinport#
  • Spam Level -- #spamlevel#
  • Spam Weight -- #weight#
  • Spool Count -- #spoolcount#
  • Status -- #status#
  • Subject -- #emailsubject#
  • Subscribe Method -- #subscribemethod#
  • Thread Count -- #threads#
  • Throttle Limit Type -- #throttlelimittype#
  • To Address -- #toaddress#
  • To Domain -- #todomain#
  • Unsubscribe Method -- #unsubscribemethod#
  • Uptime (Days) -- #uptimedays#
  • Username -- #username#
  • Version -- #version#
  • Virus Name -- #virusname#