SmarterMail 10.x Help
This documentation is for a product that is no longer supported by SmarterTools.

Account Settings

To edit your personal settings, click the settings icon. Then expand the My Settings folder and click Account Settings from the navigation pane. The user settings will load in the content pane and the following tabs will be available:

User

Use this tab to specify the following user-based settings:

  • Username - The identifier the user uses to login to SmarterMail.
  • Password - The corresponding password used to login to Smartermail.
  • Display Name - The name displayed on outgoing messages.
  • Reply-to Email Address - The email address used in the reply-to header of messages sent through webmail. This address will be used by receiving email clients when replying to a message.
  • Time Zone - The user's time zone.
  • Backup Email Address - The email address to which password reset instructions will be sent if the user forgets his password.
  • Disable Greylisting - Select this option to disable greylisting.

Webmail

Use this tab to specify the following webmail settings:

  • Initial Page on Login - The page users will see upon logging in to SmarterMail.
  • Display Format - To specify the default format in which messages are displayed, select the appropriate option from the list.
    • HTML - This option will display HTML content, if present in the email. This content can include stylistic elements, like fonts or colors, as well as hyperlinks and other formatting elements.
    • Text - This option will only display text. While it is less interesting (no fonts, images, etc), it is also much more secure and is faster to view than HTML.
  • Sort Messages by - The order in which messages are displayed. By default, messages are displayed by date in descending in order.
  • Delete Action - To specify the action performed on deleted messages, select the appropriate action from the list.
    • Move to Deleted Items folder - Deleted items will appear in the deleted items folder, which will need to regularly be emptied.
    • Auto Purge Folder - Permanently deletes the message. Note: When deleted messages are purged, the action is final. You will not be able to retrieve these messages later.
    • Mark as Deleted - Flags the message for deletion, but it will not be removed until the folder is purged.
    • Mark as Deleted and Hide - Flags the message for deletion and hides it from view, but it will not be removed until the folder is purged. Note: Be careful to monitor your disk space usage when using this option, as it may fill up with what appears to be a small number of messages.
  • Skin - The domain or system administrator may have enabled different skins for users to choose from. To specify which skin to use, select the appropriate option from the list.
  • Preview Pane - To specify where the preview pane displays in the webmail interface, select the appropriate option from the list.
  • Enable automatic mark as read for previewed messages - Select this option to automatically mark previewed messages as read.
  • Disable automatic image loading in preview pane - Select this option to prevent images when viewing messages in the preview pane.
  • Enable automatic reminder popup - Select this option to display reminders in popup windows.
  • Enable sounds - Select this option to enable sounds in webmail (such as when a new chat message is received).
  • Enable new message notifications - Select this option to display a temporary notification in the webmail interface when a new message is received. This notification will display no matter which section of the interface is selected.
  • Disable reminders for appointments and tasks - Select this option to disable appointment and task reminders.
  • Re-enable all warnings for deletions - Select this option to display a confirmation window when items are deleted. Note: The ability to hide deletion warnings is available in the confirmation window. This setting is cookie-based so the warnings will display again if the user clears cookies or uses different browser or computer to access webmail.

Compose

Use this tab to specify the following settings for writing emails:

  • Compose Format - To select the default format in which messages are created, select the appropriate option from the list.
    • HTML - Use this option if you wish to add stylistic elements to your emails.
    • Text - Use this for a simple method of email editing. You will not be able to change colors or fonts, but your emails will generally be much smaller and readable on more email clients.
  • Compose Font - To specify the default font and font size for emails, select the appropriate option from the list.
  • Text Encoding - To specify the character set used in messages composed through the Web interface, select the appropriate option from the list.
  • Spell Check Dictionary - To specify the default dictionary to use for spell-checking emails, select the appropriate option from the list.
  • Forwarding Method - To specify the method by which messages are forwarded, select the appropiate option from the list.
    • Normal - Includes original content, including font styles from original message, as part of the new message.
    • Text - Inserts the plain text version of the original message into the new message. This is useful if you want to exclude links or fonts.
    • Embed as Attachment - Attaches the original message to the new one. The message will not appear in the body of your message.
  • Auto Save Frequency - To specify how frequently SmarterMail saves a draft of a message you are writing, select the appropriate option from the list.
  • Reply Header Type - To specify the header type, select the appropriate option from the list. Note: For most users, basic headers will be sufficient. Basic headers include From, To, and Subject headings whereas the full header includes MIME type filter restrictions, etc.
  • Reply Text Indicator - The character appended to the beginning of each line of the original message in a message reply.
  • Enable inclusion of previous replies in reply - Select this option to embed the text of the original message in a message reply.
  • Enable sent items folder - Select this option to save all outgoing messages in the Sent Items folder. Note: If you send many messages, you may need to delete items from this folder regularly.
  • Enable read receipts by default - Select this option to create read receipts for all outgoing messages.
  • Enable trusted sender for webmail recipients - Select this option to add email addresses to which you have sent mail to your trusted senders list.
  • Enable exclusion of X-Originating_IP header - Select this option to remove your IP address from the X-Originating_IP header when sending messages via webmail.

Forwarding

Use this tab to set up SmarterMail to forward received messages to another email account.
  • Forwarding Address - The email address to which messages will be forwarded.
  • Enable deletion of message on forward - Select this option to automatically delete messages from your SmarterMail inbox after they are forwarded.

Plus Addressing

Plus addressing is a feature of SmarterMail that allows you to automatically filter your incoming email without creating content filtering rules first. Plus addressing also allows users to use special email addresses if they do not want to give out their real email address. For example, if user@example.com needs to provide a valid email address to sign up for a newsletter, he can sign up for the newsletter using the address user+technewsletter@example.com. When the newsletter is delivered, it will automatically be routed to the Technewsletter folder. If the folder does not exist, it will be created automatically. Note: For plus addressing to work, it is important that the folder name appears AFTER the username, but BEFORE the domain name. So the format should be: username+foldername@domain.

  • Action - The action SmarterMail should take when a plus-addressed email is received.
    • Move to folder - If the target folder exists, the incoming message will be placed into it. If the folder does not exist, it will be created. No more than 10 folders can be auto-created in this method during a six hour period to prevent abuse.
    • Move to folder (if it exists) - If the target folder exists, the incoming message will be placed into it. Otherwise, the email will get placed in the inbox.
    • Leave in Inbox - Drops the message in to your inbox.
  • Enable plus addressing - Select this checkbox to enable plus addressing.