SmarterMail 13.x Help

Folder Auto-clean

Folder Auto-clean is a method for limiting how much of a user's disk space is used by the Junk E-Mail, Sent Items, and Deleted Items folders. By placing limits on the size of these folders, domain administrators can help ensure that user accounts do not fill up unnecessarily. Messages are deleted from the folders in the order that they were received so that older messages get deleted first.

To access the folder auto-clean settings, click the settings icon. Then expand the Defaults folder and click Folder Auto-Clean in the navigation pane.

The folder auto-clean settings will load in the content pane and the following tabs will be available:

Options

Use this tab to specify the following options:

  • Enable domains to override auto-clean settings - Selet this option to allow domain administrators to create their own auto-clean policies.
  • Enable users to auto-clean inbox - Select this option to allow users to create their own auto-clean policies.

Default Rules

If you are using the default auto-clean settings set up by your administrator, they will appear on this tab. If you chose to override the settings, you can click Add Rule in the content pane toolbar to create your own auto-clean policies based upon size or date.

These options will be visible if size is chosen:

  • Folder Size Before Auto-clean - The maximum size of the folder. Once the folder reaches this size, the auto-clean process is started and older messages (messages that were received the longest time ago) are deleted.
  • Folder Size After Auto-clean - The goal size of the folder. When auto-cleaning, SmarterMail will delete older messages until the folder reaches this size. Note: This number should aways be lower than the "before" number.
  • Enable auto-clean for this folder - Select this box to activate auto-cleaning of the selected folder.

These options will be visible if date is chosen:

  • Mail Age - The maximum number of days mail will stay in the selected folder before deletion.
  • Enable auto-clean for this folder - Select this box to activate auto-cleaning of the selected folder.