SmarterMail 15.x Help

Default User Settings

This settings page is only available to domain administrators.

For domains that have a large number of users, it can be time consuming to have to make a change to user permissions and then make sure each user has the same change applied to their mailbox. Additionally, if changes need to be made to a select few users, that can be difficult as well.

With Default User Settings, domain administrators can create a template for their users so that they only have to make the change in one location, and then Propagate User Settings to each user on the domain, or to a select few users. This makes changing settings quick and easy and ensures each user has the exact same permissions and settings applied. In addition, making a change to Default User Settings doesn't automatically propagate, so a change to default settings does not change users that are already in place for the domain.

The default user settings are identical to those found when adding a single user. For more information on these settings, refer to the help page that outlines setting up new Users.