SmarterMail 15.x Help

Mapped Resources

This feature is only available in SmarterMail Enterprise.

When you share a resource with someone else, it's called a Shared Resource. When someone shares a resource with you, SmarterMail considers that a Mapped Resource. Note: Conference Room resources shared with Everyone on a domain will not appear on an individual's Mapped Resources page. They only appear when creating a new event in the webmail interface. In general, the following can be shared with you by any individual:

  • Email folders
  • Contacts
  • Calendars
  • Tasks
  • Notes

To see a list of items other users are sharing with you, click the settings icon. Then expand the My Settings and Sharing folders and click Mapped Resources in the navigation pane. A list of mapped resources will load in the content pane.

In general, the following options are available in the content pane toolbar:

  • Attach - Attaches the selected mapped resource(s) to your account so they are accessible. For example, if you attach a co-worker's calendar to your account, you can access this mapped resource from the contacts area of the webmail interface by clicking the contacts selector and choosing the appropriate option.
  • Detach - Edits an existing mapped resource.
  • Edit - Permanently removes the selected item(s) from the mapped resources list.

Attaching to Mapped Resources

When you go to your Mapped Resources page you will see a list of items others are sharing with you and the status of the share. Any item marked "Detached" will need to be attached to you before you can access it. In general, each item is listed by the Username of the person sharing the resource with you, the resource type, the name of the resource, the Friendly Name, the permission level granted to you and the status. To attach a resource, do the following:

  1. Select the resource you want to attach to your account by checking the box next it.
  2. Once selected, click the Attach button.
  3. Once the item is attached, you'll see a screen listing the details of the resource. If you like, you can edit the Friendly Name of the resource to something more descriptive or to anything of your choosing. Note: This does not change the name of the resource for anyone but yourself.
  4. Click the Save button to finalize attaching the resource.

If you no longer need access to a shared resource, simply check the box next to the item and click the Detach button. Note: This does not delete the resource from your list. The resource will still show up in your list of Mapped Resources until the original user deletes it.