SmarterMail 3.x Help
This documentation is for a product that is no longer supported by SmarterTools.

Viewing Messages

When you log in, you will initially be taken to your Inbox. To view the contents of another folder, click on the folder name in the sidebar. This page allows you to manage your mail in many ways, which are all described below.

Note: Depending on whether you have Enhanced Message List enabled in My Settings, the page may have slight variations. The enhanced message list allows you to quickly scroll through the pages of messages, as well as sort and search in a much faster way. If you have problems using the enhanced message list, try turning it off, as some browsers and older computers perform better with the non-enhanced page.

Working with Email

View a Message - Click on a message in order to view it. This will take you to the Read Message page, which is described in more detail in the Reading a Message topic.

Delete a Message - Click on the delete link next to a message to quickly delete it. For more information about deleting messages and the different settings related to it, please see the topic Deleting Messages.

Sorting Messages - Clicking on a column header will sort the messages by that field. Click again, and it will sort the other way. For example, clicking on the Size column header will sort items in order of size. Click the header again, and the sort will go in the opposite direction.

Columns - The following information is shown in the columns on this page (columns may vary for some special folders, like Drafts or Sent Items)

  • Check Box - Check the boxes next to messages you wish to perform actions on. Any items checked will be included in actions that you choose from "Choose an Action" or "Move to Folder." Clicking on the check box in the header will select all / none of the items.
  • Attachment Icon - If the messages have an attachment, an icon will show up in this column.
  • Unread Icon - This icon will appear if the message has not yet been read.
  • From - The name / email address from which the message was sent.
  • Preview Icon - If you have Message Preview enabled in My Settings, hovering your mouse over the magnifying glass icon will pop up a short preview of the message, allowing you to quickly determine if you want to spend time reading the message.
  • Subject - Subject of the message.
  • Received - The date the email was received into the mail system.
  • Size - The size of the email, in kilobytes.

Navigating Pages

Use the navigation area below the list of messages to browse through multiple pages of email. The highlighted page number is the current page you are viewing, and the arrows to the left and right of the pages allow you to go forward and back through the list.

Disk Space Indicator

This indicator may appear if your administrator has specified limits on the amount of disk space that the email account can use. When you start to get close to your limit, it is recommended that you clean out any old messages that you no longer need, especially those in Junk E-Mail, Sent Items, or Deleted Items. To have these maintained for you, enable Folder Auto-Clean under My Folders.

Actions

Choosing an action from the drop down list will immediately perform that action on all checked messages. Depending on the folder you are in and the settings you have on your account, some actions in the list below may not be available.

  • Delete - Deletes the selected mail. The action taken when a message is deleted is dependant upon the option chosen in My Settings. For more information see the topic Deleting Messages.
  • Undelete - If you have chosen in your settings to mark messages as deleted, rather than purging them, then you will be able to undelete any deleted items that still appear in your message list. Please note that you cannot undelete purged email.
  • Mark as Read - Will mark the checked emails as read and remove the Unread indicator next to them.
  • Mark as Unread - This option will mark all checked items as unread.
  • Mark / Unmark as Spam - In most folders, choosing the Mark as Spam option will delete the message, and add it to a list of spam messages for better spam protection later. This type of spam filtering, where you actually "teach" the mail server what you consider unwanted email, is known as "Bayesian Filtering". It is to your benefit to mark spam rather than just deleting it, because it helps you and others on your mail server avoid that type of mail in the future. If a message is marked as spam and it should not have been, select the checkbox next to it and choose Unmark as Spam when viewing it in the Junk E-Mail folder (if available).
  • Purge Deleted Items - This option permanently removes all messages that are marked as deleted. This option cannot be undone.
  • Delete All Messages in Folder - This option takes the same action as delete, except that it will perform the delete operation on every email in the folder, regardless of whether the message is checked or not. This option is most useful in folders like Junk E-Mail or Deleted Items.

Moving Messages

Choosing a folder from the drop down list will move all checked messages to the folder chosen.

Sharing

Sharing is a feature that is available only with Enterprise Edition of SmarterMail, and allows you to share an email folder with another user on your domain. It is described in further detail in the topic Sharing Your Own Resources.