SmarterMail 4.x Help
This documentation is for a product that is no longer supported by SmarterTools.

My Settings

The options in the My Settings page allow end users to customize the way SmarterMail works. No changes are saved until you click on the Save button. The options are each explained below, separated by the tab on which they reside.


Mailbox

Username - Your email address as it should be entered in email clients to get your email

Current Password - If you wish to change your password, enter a new password in the space provided. Note: If you do not wish to change your password, you may leave the password fields blank.

New Password - The Password you would like to become your new password.

Confirm Password - In order to ensure you typed your new password correctly, enter it again in this space.

Display Name - Your full name will be included in the From field of emails

Reply-to Address - If you wish to have replies to your emails sent to a different email address, enter it here.

Time Zone - Choose the time zone that you wish to use in SmarterMail. Daylight Saving Time is automatically managed by SmarterMail.

Bypass Greylisting - Check this box if you wish to disable greylisting spam filtering for your mailbox. Greylisting is an effective anti-spam method but does have possible disadvantages.


Forwarding

Forwarding address - If you wish to send copies of all incoming mail to a different email address(es), enter that address(es) here. For example, if your mobile phone has an email account and you will be away from your computer, enter the mobile phone's email address here to receive the emails on your mobile phone. To forward emails to multiple addresses, simply add a semicolon after each email address.

Forwarding exclusions - If you wish to limit what emails are sent as forwards, you may choose to do so with this option to avoid forwarding spam.

Delete message on forward - Check this box to delete the message from the inbox of the original email account after forwarding it to the new email address.


Webmail

Sort messages by - When viewing the messages in a folder, they will be sorted according to the option chosen in this drop down. By default, messages are sorted by date in descending order.

Show Preview Pane - When this is checked a preview panel will display at the bottom of the message list that will show you the message before double clicking it to view it in a full screen.  This may not work as well on older computers, or on certain browsers like Opera, Safari, or IE for Macs.

Scroll Long Menus - Certain drop down menus, such as Move, can grow rather long making it difficult to view all the menu items. Selecting the Scroll Long Menus checkbox will cause the possible options to display in a scrollable list. De-selecting this checkbox will cause the available options to display as one long continuous list even if the list length exceeds the available display area.

Messages per Page - When viewing the messages in a folder, this option lets you customize how many emails will appear per page.

Auto Refresh Rate - If this box has something besides Never chosen, the page that shows messages in a folder will automatically refresh after the chosen number of minutes.

Display Format - While you can choose to view a message in plain text or HTML while reading it, this option will allow you to choose the default viewing method.

  • HTML - This option will display HTML content, if present in the email. This content can include stylistic elements, like fonts or colors, as well as hyperlinks and other formatting elements.
  • Plain Text - This option will only display text. While it is less interesting (no fonts, images, etc), it is also much more secure and is faster to view than HTML.

Delete Action - Choose what happens to messages when they are deleted. The options are outlined below. For more information about deleted items, refer to the topic Deleting Messages.

  • Move to Deleted Items folder - Deleted items will appear in the deleted items folder, which will need to regularly be emptied manually.
  • Auto-Purge Folder - Remove the message and get rid of any other email messages that are marked for deletion.
  • Mark as deleted - Does not actually delete the message. Flags the message for deletion, and it will not get removed until the folder is purged.
  • Mark as deleted and hide - Does the same thing as "Mark as deleted" above. Be careful to monitor your disk space usage when using this option, as it may fill up with what appears to be a small number of messages.

Enable hover bar in tables - In some browsers, the hover bar may take up too many resources. Disabling this option will still allow you to click on rows to edit items and view email, but will not show the hover bar.

Initial Page on Login - Choose which page you would like to see upon first logging in.

  • My Today Page - Gives you a nice overview of current items in your mailbox, RSS feeds, Calendar Items, etc.
  • My Inbox - Takes you directly to your Inbox

Skin - If the domain administrator allows users to change skins, select the skin you would like to use from the drop down list.


Compose

Spell Check Dictionary - Choose from any of the dictionaries that the administrator has installed on the server, or choose to auto-detect which dictionary to use from your browser's language setting.

Compose Format - Choose the method of email composing that you would like to use.

  • HTML - Use this option if you wish to add stylistic elements to your emails.
  • Plain Text - Use this for a simple method of email editing. You will not be able to change colors or fonts, but your emails will generally be much smaller and readable on more email clients.

Text Encoding - Choose the encoding that you wish to use for outgoing messages. Encodings define what character sets are used in messages you compose through the web interface.

Forwarding Method - There are several methods by which a message can be forwarded. Please see the list below to understand each of them.

  • Normal - Includes original content, including font styles from original message, as part of the new message.
  • Plain text only - Inserts the plain text version of the original message into the new message. This is useful if you want to exclude links or fonts.
  • Embed as attachment - Attaches the original message to the new one. The message will not appear in the body of your message.

Reply Header Type - Choose whether to include a shortened basic header in your replies, or the full header instead. For most users, basic headers will be sufficient. Basic headers include From, To, and Subject headings whereas the full header includes MIME type filter restrictions, etc.

Reply Text Indicator - If your compose method is plain text, this character will get added to each line of the original message in order to distinguish it.

Include previous replies in reply - If checked, the message you are replying to will get embedded in the new message.

Save copy of replies in Sent Items folder - If checked, all messages you send from the web interface will get saved in the Sent Items folder. If you send many messages, you may need to regularly delete items from the sent items folder.

Signature - Add text to this area for a 'signature' that will display at the bottom of each email message that is composed in the web interface.


Plus Addressing

Plus Addressing is feature that allows you to automatically filter incoming email into folders without pre-creating the folders or filters to deal with them. A detailed description of this feature can be found in the topic Using Plus Addressing.

Plus Addressing Enabled - Check this box to turn on this feature. If this feature is disabled, the email will NOT be accepted.

Action - When a plus addressed email comes in, SmarterMail can act on it in several ways. See the list below for a description of each:

  • Move to folder - If the target folder exists, the incoming message will be placed into it. If the folder does not exist, it will be created. No more than 10 folders can be auto-created in this method during a six hour period to prevent abuse.
  • Move to folder (if it exists) - If the target folder exists, the incoming message will be placed into it. Otherwise, the email will get placed in the Inbox.
  • Leave in Inbox - Drops the message into your Inbox.