SmarterMail 5.x Help
This documentation is for a product that is no longer supported by SmarterTools.

Folder Auto-Clean

The purpose of the Folder Auto-Clean feature of SmarterMail is to aid you in keeping your mailbox size(s) under control. Using Folder Auto-Clean, common folders like Junk E-Mail, Sent Items, and Deleted Items can be regularly cleaned of old messages so they do not clutter your mailbox. System administrators can choose to let domains and users override your suggested settings, or require them to use the policies you set. Domain administrators also have this priviledge over users.

To get started, click the Settings button on the main toolbar, then select Folder Auto-Clean from the Defaults folder tree view.


Options (System Admin)

Enable domains to override auto-clean settings - Enable this to allow domains to change the settings on this page. This is recommended, as many domain administrators have their own ideas of what an acceptable auto-clean policy is. Uncheck this box to lock the settings for all domains and all users.

Enable users to auto-clean inbox - Enable this feature to give users the ability to auto-clean their own inbox.

Options (Domain Admin)

Use default auto-clean settings - Check this box to use the system administration's auto-clean settings.

Override auto-clean settings for this domain - Check this box to allow you to change the settings for your domain.

Allow users to override auto-clean settings - Check this box to allow users to change the settings on for their individual account.

Options (Users)

Use default auto-clean settings - Check this box to use the domain administration's auto-clean settings.

Override auto-clean settings for this account - Check this box to allow you to change the auto-clean settings for your account.


Default Rules

Under each folder that has auto-clean options or if you click the New Rule icon, you will see the settings below:

Folder - Select the folder that you would like to add the Auto-Clean to. Only seen if you click the New Rule button.

Enable Auto-clean for this folder - Enable this to auto-clean the folder when it gets too large.

Type - Choose which criteria to enforce auto-clean with:

  • Size
    • Folder size before auto-clean - When the folder reaches this size (in megabytes), auto-cleaning will be activated.
    • Folder size after auto-clean - Auto-clean will attempt to reduce the folder to this size or smaller when auto-cleaning is performed.
  • Date - Choose the max number of days messages should stay in your folder.