SmarterMail 6.x Help
This documentation is for a product that is no longer supported by SmarterTools.

Domain Folder Auto-Clean

Domain Folder Auto-Clean is a method for limiting how much of your account disk space is used by the Junk E-Mail, Sent Items, and Deleted Items folders. By placing limits on the size of these folders, you can help ensure that your domain accounts do not fill up unnecessarily. Oldest messages will be deleted from the folders first. If you override the auto-clean settings, the settings you choose will trickle down to your users.

To get started, click the Settings button on the main toolbar, and then select Folder Auto Clean under the Filtering folder in the My Settings tree view .

Note: Depending on the policies your administrator has established, you may or may not be able to change the settings on this page.

Note: If auto-clean is active on a folder, messages will get deleted from it eventually, so do not keep messages in that folder if you want to keep them.


Options

Use default auto-clean settings - Choosing this option will let you adopt the policy of your system administrator. If the administrator changes the policy, yours will automatically change with it. You can see the current policy on the Folders tab when this option is active.

Override auto-clean settings for this account - Choose this option to override the settings. Any changes you make will not be affected if the administrator changes the policy, unless they disable overrides.

Enable users to override auto-clean settings - Enable this to allow end users to declare their own auto clean settings.


Folder Settings

If you are using the default auto-clean settings set up by your administrator, you will be shown them on this tab.

In the case that you have chosen to override the settings, click the Add Rule icon on the actions toolbar to get started.

Folder - Select the folder you would like to set auto-clean settings for.

Type - This will allow you to choose what rule you want the auto clean to follow, size or date.

Folder size BEFORE auto-clean - Once the folder reaches this size (in megabytes), the auto-clean process is started, and older messages are cleaned.

Folder size AFTER auto-clean - This is the goal size for the auto-clean process. It will try to delete older messages until the folder gets to this size. This number should always be lower than the "before" number.