SmarterMail 8.x Help
This documentation is for a product that is no longer supported by SmarterTools.

Folder Auto-clean

Folder Auto-clean is a method for limiting how much of your account disk space is used by the Junk E-Mail, Sent Items, and Deleted Items folders. By placing limits on the size of these folders, you can help ensure that your account does not fill up unnecessarily. Messages are deleted from the folders in the order that they were received so that older messages get deleted first.

To acces the folder auto-clean settings, click the settings icon. Then expand the My Settings and Filtering folders and click Folder Auto-Clean in the navigation pane. Note: Depending on the policies your administrator has established, you may or may not be able to change the settings on this page.

The folder auto-clean settings will load in the content pane and the following tabs will be available:

Options

Use this tab to specify the following options:

  • Use default auto-clean settings - Select this checkbox to adopt the auto-clean policy set by your email host or domain administrator. Note: If the administrator changes the policy, yours will automatically change with too.
  • Override auto-clean settings for this account - Select this checkbox to override the settings set by your administrator. Any changes you make will not be affected if the administrator changes their policy, unless they disable user overrides.

Folder Settings

If you are using the default auto-clean settings set up by your administrator, they will appear on this tab. If you chose to override the settings, you can click Add Rule in the content pane toolbar to create your own auto-clean policies based upon size or date.

These options will be visible if size is chosen:

  • Folder Size Before Auto-clean - The maximum size of the folder. Once the folder reaches this size, the auto-clean process is started and older messages (messages that were received the longest time ago) are deleted.
  • Folder Size After Auto-clean - The goal size of the folder. When auto-cleaning, SmarterMail will delete older messages until the folder reaches this size. Note: This number should aways be lower than the "before" number.
  • Enable auto-clean for this folder - Select this box to activate auto-cleaning of the selected folder.

These options will be visible if date is chosen:

  • Mail Age - The maximum number of days mail will stay in the selected folder before deletion.
  • Enable auto-clean for this folder - Select this box to activate auto-cleaning of the selected folder.