SmarterTrack 12.x Help

Moderating Knowledge Base Feedback

Knowledge base feedback can be a useful tool for companies that want to promote community on their portal and gather feedback on the content of an article. Article feedback can include helpful tips, questions about steps outlined in an article, suggestions for improving articles and more.

To eliminate spammy feedback left on articles, administrators may choose to moderate a user's feedback prior to it being published to the article. If this setting is enabled, agents and administrators can review feedback and then either reply to them or delete them. Note: This setting can be enabled/disabled in the Permissions settings of a brand's configuration.

Moderating Feedback

When moderation of feedback is enabled and a portal visitor leaves feedback on an article, their feedback is not immediately visible to the public. It is only visible to the user who created it until a moderator approves it. To view unapproved feedback, click the knowledge base icon, expand Moderation in the navigation pane and click Feedback Moderation. On the Unapproved tab, a list of unapproved feedback will display in the content pane. The following options are available in the content pane toolbar:

  • Actions - Click this button and select the appropriate option to sellect all, approve or block comments.
    • Select All - Selects all feedback in the content pane.
    • Open - Loads the knowledge base article in a popup window.
    • Approve - Approves the selected feedback. Approving feedback makes it visible to the public.
    • Block - Blocks the selected feedback. When feedback is blocked, it will not be visible to the public.
  • View - Click this button and select the appropriate option to refresh the page or sort the order of items in the content pane.
    • Sort - Choose in which order to sort items in the content pane. It is also possible to select the column to sort by.
  • Delete - Permanently deletes the selected knowledge base comment(s).

To moderate specific user feedback, double-click on the desired item. The item will display in a pop-up window and the following options will be available in the preview pane toolbar:

  • Edit - Modifies the feedback.
  • Open KB Article - Loads the knowledge base article in a popup window.
  • Approve - Approves the selected feedback. Approving feedback makes it visible to the public.
  • Block - Blocks the selected feedback. When feedback is blocked, it will not be visible to the public. In addition, the portal vistor will be blacklisted from providing any future feedback on articles.
  • Delete - Deletes the feedback.
  • Close - Closes the feedback without performing any other action on it.

Reviewing Feedback Flagged as Abusive

When a portal visitor flags customer feedback as abusive, that feedback is no longer visible to the portal visitor. To view abusive feedback, click the knowledge base icon, expand Moderation in the navigation pane and click on the Abuse tab. A list of feedback flagged as abusive will display in the content pane. Just as they do with unapproved feedback, moderators have the ability to approve, edit or block customer feedback flagged as abusive.

Viewing Blocked Feedback

When a moderator blocks feedback, it is no longer visible to anyone in the portal. However, moderators can view any blocked feedback by clicking the knowledge base icon, expanding Moderation in the navigation pane and clicking on the Blocked tab. A list of blocked feedback will display in the content pane. Just as they do with unapproved feedback, moderators have the ability to approve or edit feedback that is blocked.

Note: Moderators can sort blocked feedback to identify portal visitors that are continually posting offensive, spammy or off-topic feedback and use that information to block the offending IP address from providing feedback in the future.