SmarterTrack 12.x Help

Knowledge Base Overview

The knowledge base is a tool companies can use to share information with employees, customers and partners. In its simplest form, SmarterTrack's knowledge base is an online repository of articles that helps agents and customers solve issues quickly and efficiently. A well-organized knowledge base can save organizations money by decreasing the amount of employee time spent trying to find information about company products, policies, and/or procedures. As a customer service tool, a knowledge base can give customers easy access to information that would otherwise require a phone call, live chat or email ticket.

The navigation pane for the knowledge base is orgainzed as follows:

  • My Articles - Lists the articles that are assigned to a specific agent.
  • All Articles - Managers and administrators will be able to see all articles in the knowledge base, regardless of their status or to whom they're assigned.
  • Drafts - Lists all articles flagged as drafts.
  • Review - Lists all articles flagged for review.
  • Stale - Lists all articles that have reached their stale date. The timeframe for when articles become stale is set in the Management Interface settings.
  • By Folder - Lists all folders that were created for organizing articles.
  • By Agent - Lists all agents who have articles assigned to them.
  • Broken Links - SmarterTrack scans articles for any broken internal or external links. This lists all articles that contain broken links.
  • Advanced Search - Allows for a more advanced search of all knowledge base articles.

To access the knowledge base, click the knowledge base icon. By default, SmarterTrack will display knowledge base articles for all brands. However, agents can review articles for a specific brand by selecting it from the brands dropdown at the top of the tree menu.

For help understanding the different areas of the knowledge base section, see the knowledge base interface diagram.

Navigating the Knowledge Base

By default, the following columns are available in the content pane:

  • Checkbox - Use these boxes to select multiple articles. Articles must be selected before choosing an action from the toolbar.
  • Article Title - The title of the article.
  • Folder - The location of the article.
  • Flags - Whether the aricle is flagged as draft, private or for review.
  • Agent - The agent responsible for the article.

Performing Knowledge Base Actions

In general, the following options are available from the navigation pane toolbar:

  • Actions - Folders can be created for products, issue types or any other way to keep your articles organized and easy to access, both for customers and for agents. Click this button and select the appropriate option to add, edit or delete folders to the knowledge base.
    • Add Folder - Creates a new knowledge base folder.
    • Edit Folder - Modifies an existing knowledge base folder.
    • Delete Folder - Deletes an existing knowledge base folder and all of its contents.

In general, the following options are available from the content pane toolbar:

  • New - Creates a new knowledge base article in the selected folder.
  • Actions - Click this button and select the appropriate option to select all articles, move articles, copy articles or change the status of articles.
    • Select All - Selects all knowledge base articles in the content pane.
    • Mark - Click this button and select the appropriate option to change the status of the selected article(s).
      • Public - Marks the article as public. Public articles are visible to everyone.
      • Private - Marks the article as private. Private articles are only visible to administrators and agents and are great for internal guidelines, policies, troubleshooting steps or any other information needed by agents and managers.
      • Draft - Marks the article as a draft. Drafts are only visible to administrators and agents. Draft articles are those that are essentially finished but are still awaiting review and/or revision prior to making them public or private.
      • Reviewed - Marks the article as reviewed. Agents typically use this option to indicate that an article has been reviewed/modified after another agent has flagged it for review or the article has become stale. Note: By default, articles become stale every 90 days. This is to ensure content is reviewed for accuracy on a regular basis. This setting can be modified by administrators in the Management Interface settings.
      • Review - Flags the article for review. Agents typically flag an article for review when they want the article edited for content, clarity, or grammatical errors.
    • Move - Moves the selected article(s) to another folder.
    • Copy - Copies the selected article(s) to another folder.
    • Transfer - Transfers responsibility for the article to a new agent.
    • Rescan All for Broken Links - Initiates a scan of all articles for any broken URLs or links to external and/or internal content.
  • View - Click this button and select the appropriate option.
    • Visible Fields - Choose which columns are displayed in the navigation pane. It is also possible to modify default widths for each column to help them fit specific screen resolutions.
  • Delete - Deletes the selected knowledge base articles. For more information, see Deleting Knowledge Base Articles.