On occasion, an agent may need to transfer a ticket to another agent or group. There are various reasons why a ticket may be transferred. For example, a level 1 tech support agent may need to escalate the ticket to a more experienced level 2 agent for resolution or a sales ticket should actually be handled by the support department. Note: The ability to transfer tickets is determined by the role permissions. By default, any agent can transfer tickets, so a manager would need to change role permissions to exclude an agent, or group, from the ability to transfer. For more information, see Roles.
To transfer a ticket from the content pane, select the ticket and click the Actions menu in the content pane toolbar and click Transfer. Alternatively, you can click Transfer in the preview pane toolbar if you are viewing the ticket in the preview pane. This will open a pop-up window with the following fields:
- Instance - Select the SmarterTrack installation from the list. Note: This field is only available if there are multiple installations of SmarterTrack available and the administrator has enabled cross-installation ticket transferring in Connected Services.
- New Brand - The brand the ticket should be transferred to. Note: This will only appear if there are multiple brands set up in SmarterTrack.
- New Group - If the ticket should be transferred to a new group, select it from this dropdown list.
- New Agent - Select the new agent who will be taking the ticket. If the ticket does not need to transfer to a specific agent, choose the auto-assign option and the ticket will be assigned to an agent within the specified group based on the distribution method set by the administrator.
- New Priority - If the ticket's priority needs to change, select it from the dropdown. Generally, an agent will not need to change the ticket priority.
- New Status - If the ticket's status needs to change, select it from the dropdown. Generally, an agent will want to mark a transferred ticket as Active.
- Pin Ticket - Check this box to pin the ticket to the agent receiving the ticket.
- Transfer Comment - Type any important information or comments regarding the transfer into this field. Generally, transfer notes describe actions taken and/or the reason the ticket was transferred.
Click OK to transfer the ticket. Note: When a ticket is transferred, idle time is not reset for the new agent. However, agent response time IS reset. Therefore, the new agent's initial response time is calculated based off of when they received the transfer.
Copyright © SmarterTools Inc. All rights reserved.