Deleting Knowledge Base Articles
On occasion, an agent or administrator may need to delete a knowledge base article from the system. Note: The ability to delete a knowledge base article is determined by the role permissions. By default, agents cannot delete knowledge base articles. For more information, see Roles.
To delete a knowledge base article, simply select the desired article(s) in the content pane. Then use the Actions icon in the content pane toolbar and select Delete from the dropdown menu. Alternatively, agents can delete an article they are currently viewing by clicking Delete in the preview pane toolbar. Regardless of the method used, when an agent deletes a knowledge base article they are presented with a confirmation dialog. In addition to confirming the deletion of the article, there is an option to forward traffic (e.g., search engine traffic or bookmarks) to a new/different article. For example, if a new article was written that covers all, or even some, of the information contained in the article marked for deletion. To redirect traffic, simply select the folder, then the article, you want use.
Once an article is deleted, it is no longer available for review or action and will eventually be purged from the system. (Note: Deleted items are purged from the system every 90 days. Items purged from SmartrerTrack are no longer indexed and will not return as results when using Advanced Search.)
Copyright © SmarterTools Inc. All rights reserved.